Taking Candy from a Baby

By far, the most swinging and eclectic piece of the concert is Taking Candy from a Baby. While the title itself may give some pause, the story behind this piece is just as crazy!

I had been given an assignment to come up with a trio for Cello, Horn, and Oboe in the Lydian mode.  In true college student fashion, I waited until the last the night before it was due to begin working on it.  By 2:00am I was stumped, but kept having this melody running through my head.  In my mind, I pictured a funny cartoon of a thief stealing candy from a baby only to be nabbed by the police after a crazy chase —and thus the song was born.

A Baby and His Lollypop

The song waited until this past semester before I had a chance to work on it.  I had just been introduced to the world of Jazz music (which I fell in love with) and decided to incorporate many styles including Rag Time, Brazilian Samba, Boogie Woogie, Cool Jazz, Nursery Rhyme, and Fugue.

I hope you  will enjoy this fun piece written in true Looney Tunes style!

Posted on February 18, 2015, in Artwork, Composition, Music, Orchestrations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

