A Visit from Dan Forrest

Amy presenting The Light Princess to Dr. Dan Forrest

Amy presenting The Light Princess to Dr. Dan Forrest

As I shared in a previous post, renowned composer Dan Forrest visited the college this weekend as a guest speaker.  It was quite a whirlwind of a weekend, but we all had a wonderful time as Dr. Forrest spoke in several of the music classes, met individually with the composition students for a private lesson, gave a public practicum session, and performed in a concert of that works last night.

I was able to present to Dr. Forrest my current work on The Light Princess in both a private lesson and in front of an audience where he gave suggestions and advice on how to improve my piece.  I presented two movements from The Light Princess using the Garritan Sounds through Finale playback that I had tweaked to sound much better.  For the tenor solo that the prince sings in the story, I asked Richard Dinsmoor to play the part of the prince.

Richard Dinsmoor singing the part of the Prince in The Light Princess

Richard Dinsmoor singing the part of the Prince in The Light Princess

Dr. Forrest had several great suggestions, but I think my biggest takeaway from the meeting was that I need to work hard to notate the music exactly as I want the players to perform it and not leave as much up to their interpretation.  Secondly, I learned that I need to find the right balance between words and music in order to tell the story the best way possible.

I am very thankful to Dr. Forrest for his kind words and advice.  It was a pleasure to meet him again and I look forward to his next visit!

Posted on April 9, 2014, in Composition, Dan Forrest, Music, Orchestrations, The Light Princess, The Master's College and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Of course Richard sang the part of the prince. Fitting 🙂

    Best journeying and success to you in finishing this massive project, and I look forward to hearing the finished composition!

Leave a Reply

